These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

Inventive and unique Science and Art organizations, podcasts, writers, artists, websites, publications, etc…that are thinking outside of the box and making science approachable, fun, and thought-provoking.

Podcasts

The Adaptors, a podcast that focuses on climate adaptation: http://www.theadaptors.org

Science Friday, another reason to look forward to Friday: http://www.sciencefriday.com

Radio Lab, a creative and memorable science podcast: http://www.radiolab.org

The Hidden Brain, a podcast that focuses on social science: http://www.hiddenbrain.org

Organizations

SciArt Center (NYC, NY): http://www.sciartcenter.org

Art. Science. Gallery (Austin, TX): http://artsciencegallery.com

Beakerhead (Calgary, Alberta): http://beakerhead.com

Made with Code, bringing more girls into the world of coding: https://www.madewithcode.com/home/

Girls who Code, working to close the gender gaps in the technology and engineering sectors: http://girlswhocode.com

Zooniverse, online citizen science platform for astronomy to zoology: https://www.zooniverse.org

Nerd Nite, Science and story telling coming to a city near you: http://nerdnite.com

The Story Collider, stories about science: http://storycollider.org

Websites

Mad Art Lab: http://madartlab.com

2 New Things, non-fiction bedtime stories for curious kids: http://2newthings.com

ASAP Science, science-based YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/AsapSCIENCE

Stated Clearly, genetics and evolution animation: http://statedclearly.com

Artists

Isaac Cordal, a Spanish artist who uses sculpture to comment about the environment: http://cementeclipses.com

Klari Reis, a new petri dish painting a day: http://www.adailydish.com

Stitching Science, an international collective of textile artists that center their work around science: http://www.stitchingscience.com

Heather Barnett, interdisciplinary artist focused on biological systems: http://www.heatherbarnett.co.uk/index.htm

Beatrice the Biologist, science comics: http://www.beatricebiologist.com

Bird and Moon, science and nature comics: http://birdandmoon.com

Jill Pelto, an artist and scientist who focuses on climate change and it’s impact on the environment: http://www.jillpelto.com

Writers

Grrl Scientist, an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution and ecology for The Guardian: http://www.theguardian.com/science/grrlscientist

Elizabeth Kolbert, author of The Sixth Extinction: http://elizabethkolbert.com

Carl Zimmer: National Geographic’s blog The Loom: http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/blog/the-loom/

Andy Revkin, New York Times Dot.Earth Blog: http://dotearth.blogs.nytimes.com/author/andrew-c-revkin/

Publications

Nautilus Magazine: http://nautil.us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s